Writes & Bites: Streats Hong Kong Cafe

It’s only six days days after we first ushered in the month of Syawal and celebrated the first day of Eid, and I’m already feeling a little sluggish from all that rich lemak, ketupats and sambal goreng.

I remembered reading about Streats Hong Kong Cafe some time ago on a friend’s Instagram and since I was at IMM yesterday running some errands, I decided I would trade in my plate of lontong for something light!

I didn’t take too long to decide what I wanted and that was the HK Shrimp Dumpling Noodles. (SGD 7.80) . It came with the option to have it dry or soupy. I decided to go with the dry option and opted to have the soup on the side.

IMG_2082

Since there are not many places in Singapore where you can have authentic Cantonese dumpling / wanton Mee, I was quite excited to try this!

If you’re thinking that this would taste like what you’ve had at Mr Teh Tarik or even Puncak, you’ll be in for a surprise!

I for one found it so light and so easy to finish! The noodles were springy and fresh and was complemented by a really flavourful broth. The noodles was accompanied by char Siew chicken and really plump shrimp dumplings which I loved! These dumplings were boiled before being served and I liked how it wasn’t over-boiled I.e wasn’t soft/soggy. They were definitely extremely generous with the filling in the dumplings!

Of course, it you’re looking for a Chilli hit, this may disappoint a little. However, I was really happy with my dumpling noodles and welcomed the lighter taste on my tastebuds.

IMG_2083

I paired my noodles with a side of pan fried chicken and mushroom dumplings which were nice and soft. They hadn’t been over fried and still had a nice bite to them, having been lightly toasted on each side. Paired with the delicious vinegar dressing, it was a lovely side dish. Unfortunately, since I was alone, I couldn’t finish everything and brought it home for breakfast the next day! After heating the dumplings in the microwave, I’m happy to note it didn’t go rubbery or hard!

I’m happy to have discovered them and I can’t wait to head back for more!

Where:

Bukit Panjang Plaza
1 Jelebu Road
#02-17
Singapore 677743
Tel: (65) 6767 4745

Nex
23 Serangoon Central
#03-08/09
Singapore 556083
Tel: (65) 6509 1966

City Square Mall
180 Kitchener Road
#01-01
Singapore 208539
Tel : (65) 6509 3902

One KM
11 Tanjong Katong Road
#02-19/20
Singapore 437157
Tel:(65) 6702 2511

Halal Status: Halal Certified.

Our Verdict: 4 out of 5 stars

Tags: ,

Categories: Halal

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

