5 Places To Get Your Nasi Lemak Fix in Singapore

[Disclaimer: This list is not exhaustive and there are many other nasi lemak places that have yet to be added to this list]

Piping hot, fragrant coconut infused rice, crispy chicken wings and how do we forget that sweet and spicy sambal that is synonymous with nasi lemak. Nasi lemak is one of the (dare I say) staple breakfast dishes in Singapore and Malaysia. I don’t think there exists a Malay food stall in Singapore that would not serve up a plate of excellent nasi lemak for your lazy weekend breakfasts.

Increasingly, nasi lemak is becoming more upmarket and being made more accessible to the masses by making it readily available in shopping centres so much so that the dish can be enjoyed for breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper!

I thought I would try the same type of nasi lemak i.e. with chicken wings and otah across the various places just for fair comparison.

1. Qiji

qiji

Qiji is a popular lunch spot for lots of working adults because the food is cheap and pretty darn good. They make a pretty mean fried chicken wing which, when piping hot, is delicious! I also like that the sambal portion is generous. They have a few variations – with chicken cutlet, with hot dog, fishcake and even a fish and chicken option now!  Compared to the rest, their rice is slightly starchier. They’ve just revamped their menu with new options and of course, you can get lots of other things there too like their yummy popiah! There are plenty of Qiji outlets all over Singapore, check out their locations here.

Halal Status: Halal Certified

2. Crave Nasi Lemak & Teh Tarik

cravenasilemak

More commonly known as the Adam Road Nasi Lemak, they’ve now gone out to malls in Singapore under the name Crave Nasi Lemak and Teh Tarik ! For about $7.00 (inclusive of otah), this is undoubtedly pricey. But I will say, it was definitely my favourite. The rice was not too salty or coconuty  and the use of  basmati rice definitely set them apart from the pack. I was also lucky because my fried chicken was piping hot as it had just come out of the deep fryer! The otah comes separately from the set ($1.80/piece or $2/2 pieces) but you know what they say right? It’s definitely worth paying for good good. (I got mine at their take away kiosk in Junction 8 so that’s why it comes in a plastic container).

Halal Status: Muslim Owned

3. Boon Lay Power Nasi Lemak

boonlaypower

I happened to be around the Boon Lay Garden Market area so I popped by the original Boon Lay Power Nasi Lemak stall to try their nasi lemak. I’ve always heard rave reviews about it and the little kiosks in the basement of shopping centres always boast a long queue. Again, I happened to be at the stall when it first opened so I got piping hot chicken. Of the different nasi lemaks I’ve tried, their chicken was definitely the biggest size wise. I’m not sure if it was just my tongue or the fact that my taste buds were already on overdrive post Raya (this was the Monday after Raya) but i found everything a little too salty for my liking. My set didn’t come with otah and since they had limited choices that day, I opted for a fishcake instead. Price wise, I paid less than $5 for my dish.

Halal Status: Muslim Owned

4. Lee Wee Brothers

leeweenasilemak

I managed to pick this up while at JEM during lunch one day and thought I would try and see how this compares to the other nasi lemaks I’ve been unhealthily consuming. Of the lot, I think this had the most rice though the otah-otah was not my most favourite. However, for its price (of about $6), not only did I get a two-joined chicken wing, but I also got fish cake and otah. I also appreciated the fact that the sambal was packed separately especially since this was a take out kiosk (so people may have to bring this back to the office / home, and we all know how sambal leak everywhere…) and that there were two types you could choose from: a glazed chicken or a deep fried chicken. They now have five outlets you can patronise including a dine-in store at Rivervale Mall.

Halal Status: Halal Certified

5. Nasi Lemak Kukus

nasilemak

Unlike the other nasi lemaks featured here, Nasi Lemak Kukus follows a buffet concept where you have free flow rice and you get to pick whatever ingredients you would like to go with the nasi lemak. It can be slightly unnerving for people who have trouble deciding but if you like options, this is for you. Similar to the style of Malaysian nasi lemak, where people add rendang or sambal sotong to the nasi lemak, this however is not similar price wise. For the above two plates of nasi lemak and a teh ice and sirap limau, I paid about $19. Props to them for the wide selection of dishes and the generous serving sizes for their ayam masak merah and their rendang! For people who like their nasi lemak simple and traditional, they also sell their basic sets for about $4 for the chicken set.

Halal Status: Muslim Owned

 

Tags:

Categories: Halal

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

