Writes & Bites: Edmond Chicken Rice

IMG_9492

I’ve been working within the Buona Vista vicinity now for slightly more than 1.5 years and we all know, this is definitely not a halal food paradise. So, when my lunch buddy came across a post on Miss Tam Chiak’s Instagram account featuring Edmond Chicken Rice, which is located nearby, we knew we had to try it!

From Buona Vista MRT Station, it took us about 15 minutes to stroll to Commonwealth Drive and I was surprised to see quite a queue forming at the stall. It’s not very easy to find good halal Chinese-style chicken rice (other than Mackenzie Rex & Evertop) so I was excited to try this.

I had the roasted breast meat while my colleague opted for roasted thigh meat. My chicken breast meat wasn’t overly dry and still had a good spring to it while my friend definitely enjoyed the roasted thigh meat. The rice was equally flavourful and I must say that  for SGD $3.50, I was definitely a very satisfied customer.

However, the showstopper here is definitely the chilli sauce which packs a huge punch and has such a good balance of garlic – ginger ratio. The chilli was spicy but complemented the dish so well that I didn’t mind it at all. In fact, I enjoyed the lingering taste of ginger and chili spice in my mouth even hours after lunch.

I’m just counting down the days when I get to head back there for chicken rice again!

Where:  Blk46-1 Commonwealth Drive #01-358 S(140461)

Halal Status: Halal Certified.

Our Verdict: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Halal Status: Halal Certified.

Our Verdict: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Tags:

Categories: Halal, WritesandBites

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment